How to choose a pillow
Before you start
Time 20 min
- The position you sleep in most nights
- A pillow you already own, to compare its height with the figures
- Two or three pillows to compare, picked in step one
- The maker's returns page open beside the product page
Choose a pillow in four steps. Pick by the position you sleep in, read the height the maker states, check how that height changes, then read what it costs to send the pillow back.
The first narrows the list, the second and third tell you which pillow to try, and the last decides what a wrong guess costs. Every figure below was read on 2026-11-06 from the maker’s page or the listing that sells the pillow. None of it is a test of how a pillow feels.
The order matters. The last step is the one buyers skip. Some makers state they take no returns on a pillow. Choose by height and price alone, and a wrong guess can leave you stuck with it.
This page is for a first-time buyer or for anyone whose last pillow went flat or felt wrong. It makes no health claims. Where a maker states one, the maker’s wording stays the maker’s. For how the record is built, see how we check.
Pick the position you sleep in
Pick the position first, the one thing makers state in a form you can compare. Layla says its BioCrystal pillow is built for side sleepers. Tuft & Needle names back, side and stomach sleepers, and Saatva lists all sleep positions.
Use the position pages to build a short list, then come back here. Each one lists the pillows whose makers name that position, with the return terms in the same row.
- Side: pillows for side sleepers
- Back: pillows for back sleepers
- Stomach: pillows for stomach sleepers
- Neck complaints: pillows for neck pain
Do you move between positions in the night? Start with a pillow whose maker names more than one. Layla Kapok names side and back sleepers, and Tuft & Needle names three positions. “All sleep positions” is the maker’s phrase, so read it as a claim.
Stop at two or three pillows. A longer list makes the later steps slower and does not make the choice better.
Read the height the maker states
Read the height on the product page, in inches, for each pillow on your list. Makers give it in different ways, so check which. Saatva states roughly 4-5 inches for its standard loft and roughly 6-7 inches for its high loft. Casper states 9 inches uncompressed, and Tuft & Needle states 5 inches high, a box size.
The range across the record is wide. The thinnest pillows state 2.25 inches (SofGlowly Thin Flat Pillow), 2.6 inches (Blissbury Stomach Sleeper Pillow) and 2.75 inches (Bluewave Ultra Slim Gel). Casper Original, at 9 inches, is the tallest of the bed pillows on this page. Those thin pillows are listed for stomach and back sleepers, as their listings state.
Compare each figure with a pillow you already own. If you know that your current pillow suits you, pick a listed height near it. If you know it does not, pick a different one. No stated height fits every body, so this guide names no right number, and you should distrust any page that names one without showing its reasons.
If a page states no height, that is a gap, not a zero. Some rows in the record carry no height at all, and a pillow with no stated height is harder to choose. Ask the maker, or leave it off the list.
Check how the height changes
Check whether the maker states a way to change the height, because it turns a wrong guess into a small fix. A pillow you can adjust at home gives you a second chance without a return.
The makers state these ways:
- Layla BioCrystal: unzip the cover to remove one layer, which moves the stated loft between 5 and 7 inches.
- Layla Kapok: add or remove the exact amount of fill.
- Casper Original: remove the insert.
- Eli & Elm Side Sleeper: add or remove fill.
- Luxome LAYR: add or remove inserts and filling.
The fill matters here as well. A pillow of shredded fill can be adjusted by taking fill out, while a solid pillow cannot. Saatva states shredded natural latex, Layla Kapok states shredded memory foam blended with kapok fibers, and Quince states luxe white goose down at a soft firmness. The maker states how each is built, and a return window lets you find out how it feels on your own bed.
An adjustable pillow does not remove the need for step four. If you change the fill, a maker may judge the pillow used. Read the returns page for any such condition before you start pulling fill out.
Read what it costs to send it back before you pay
Read the return terms on the maker’s own page before you pay, and read two things: the window and who pays. The window is how long you have to decide. The cost is what it takes to send the pillow back, which can be a fee, a shipping charge taken from your refund, or nothing.
| Pillow | Window | Cost to send it back | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quince Luxe Goose Down | 365 days | Prepaid label, fee not stated | $124 |
| Tuft & Needle Original Foam | 100 nights | Free returns, fee not stated | $80 |
| Saatva Latex | 45 nights | Free return shipping, no restocking fee | $165 |
| Layla BioCrystal Side Sleeper | 30 nights | Free returns, no return or return-shipping fees | $149 |
| Brooklinen Marlow | 365 days | $9.95 return fee, shipping payer not stated | $55.25 |
| Eli & Elm Side Sleeper | 45 days | Refund less shipping costs | $114.99 |
| Luxome LAYR | 30 days | Return shipping deducted from refund, no restocking fee | $150 |
| Peacock Alley Down Alternative | 30 days | $9.95 shipping and restocking fee | $95 |
| Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck | None | Pillows may not be returned | $114 |
The table is a sample, not the whole record. A long window does not mean a free return. Brooklinen states 365 days, and it also states a $9.95 return fee. Saatva states 45 nights with free return shipping and no restocking fees, which is a shorter window at a lower cost to you.
Three mistakes to avoid:
- Reading a trial as a return policy. A maker can state a number of nights and say nothing about who pays shipping. Where the page is silent, the record says the fee or the payer is not stated, and so should you.
- Paying before you read. Tempur-Pedic states that pillows may not be returned, so a wrong choice is yours to keep. Boll & Branch’s pillow page states no trial or return window, so its window is not stated. Read its returns page before you pay.
- Trusting a marketplace listing for the maker’s terms. Many of the cheapest rows are sold on Amazon, which states that most items can be returned within 30 days of delivery. That is Amazon’s window, and it does not say who pays to send the pillow back.
Clear terms at low cost mean you can buy the pillow that fits your position and height. Unclear terms mean you should pick the pillow with the clearer terms, or pick one you can adjust at home. For how makers earn from these links, see how we make money.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best way to choose a pillow?
Work in four steps: pick by the position you sleep in, read the height the maker states, check how the height changes, then read what it costs to send the pillow back before you pay. Each is stated on the maker's page or the listing that sells the pillow, read for this guide on 2026-11-06, so you can check them in minutes.
What height of pillow should I buy?
No stated height fits every body, so this guide names no right number. It does show the range makers state: 2.25 inches on a thin flat pillow up to 9 inches on Casper Original, uncompressed. Choose a pillow whose maker says how the height changes.
Can I return a pillow if it feels wrong?
It depends on the maker. Saatva states a 45-night trial with free return shipping and no restocking fees, while Tempur-Pedic states that pillows may not be returned. Read the returns page before you pay, because the terms differ from one maker to the next.
Does a pillow cost money to send back?
Sometimes. Brooklinen states a $9.95 return fee and Peacock Alley states a $9.95 shipping and restocking fee, and Eli & Elm refunds its 45 days less shipping costs. Saatva and Layla state no fee. Where a page says nothing about the fee, this guide says the fee is not stated.
Which pillow suits a side, back or stomach sleeper?
The makers name the position, and this guide repeats what they state. Layla BioCrystal says it is built for side sleepers, Tuft & Needle names back, side and stomach sleepers, and Blissbury sells a stomach sleeper pillow. The position pages list every maker that names each position.
Sources
Show all 25 sources
- Boll & Branch, : price and stated fit, Boll & Branch Down Alternative Pillow
- Brooklinen, : return terms, Brooklinen Marlow Pillow
- Brooklinen, : stated fit, Brooklinen Marlow Pillow
- Brooklinen, : price, Brooklinen Marlow Pillow
- Casper, : return terms, Casper Original Pillow
- Casper, : price and return terms and stated fit, Casper Original Pillow
- Eli & Elm, : price and return terms and stated fit, Eli & Elm Side Sleeper Pillow
- Eli & Elm, : return terms, Eli & Elm Side Sleeper Pillow
- Layla, : price and return terms and stated fit, Layla BioCrystal Side Sleeper Pillow
- Layla, : price and return terms and stated fit, Layla Kapok Pillow
- Luxome, : return terms, Luxome LAYR Customizable Pillow
- Luxome, : price and stated fit, Luxome LAYR Customizable Pillow
- Peacock Alley, : return terms, Peacock Alley Down Alternative Pillow
- Peacock Alley, : price and return terms and stated fit, Peacock Alley Down Alternative Pillow
- Quince, : price and stated fit, Quince Luxe Goose Down Pillow
- Quince, : return terms, Quince Luxe Goose Down Pillow
- Saatva, : price and stated fit, Saatva Latex Pillow
- Saatva, : return terms, Saatva Latex Pillow
- Tempur-Pedic, : price and return terms and stated fit, Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck Pillow
- Tuft & Needle, : return terms, Tuft & Needle Original Foam Pillow
- Tuft & Needle, : price and return terms and stated fit, Tuft & Needle Original Foam Pillow
- Amazon, : return terms, 3 products
- Amazon, : price and stated fit, Bluewave Bedding Ultra Slim Gel Memory Foam Pillow
- Amazon, : price and stated fit, BLISSBURY Stomach Sleeper Pillow
- Amazon, : price and stated fit, SofGlowly Thin Flat Pillow